The CFDA Fashion Awards took place in New York for fashion designers and creative visionaries

The CFDA Fashion Awards recognizes extraordinary design excellence in: womenswear, menswear, accessories, as well as accomplishments in creative vision and lifetime achievement. The annual event credits the outstanding contributions made to American fashion by individuals from all areas of the industry and related arts.

The cfda fashion awards

This year’s most talented designers in American fashion were honored at the annual CFDA Awards. The CFDA Fashion Awards last week was hosted by Seth Meyers who tried to keep the audience entertained. Held at New York’s Hammerstein Ballroom, this year’s prestigious awards honored the American fashion designers for shaping the industry. The social and political activists shaping the world for the better were awarded for their contributions too. A special Board of Directors’ Tribute was awarded to feminist icon Gloria Steinem, president Cecile Richards and actress/singer Janelle Monae. They were given the special award for “their tireless work and achievements on behalf of women, and the powerful voice each had at the historic Women’s March,” according to a release.

The cfda fashion awards


The CFDA was founded by PR figure Eleanor Lambert in 1962, and the CFDA Fashion Awards first took d in 1980. Nominations are submitted by the Fashion Guild, a group comprised of more than 1,500 CFDA members, fashion editors, retailers and stylists. In 2006, Diane von Furstenberg was elected the group’s president and Steven Kolb became executive director.

The cfda fashion awards
Founder – Eleanor Lambert

The list of guests present at the CFDA awards ceremony were Nicole Kidman who announced the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award. While Armie Hammer had the honor to do the same for the Menswear Designer of the Year. Kerry Washington handled this year’s Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent, and Jon Bon Jovi gave out the Swarovski Award for Positive Change.

The big winner of the evening was Calvin Klein’s Raf Simons, who took home both the Womenswear Designer of the Year Award and the Menswear Designer of the Year Award. He became the first designer to win both awards in one night since Calvin Klein himself back in 1993.

The cfda fashion awards

Designer Kenneth Cole was honored with the Swarovski Award for Positive Change. Appreciated for using his runways and advertisements as platforms to address social issues like homelessness and AIDS. The prestigious Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Rick Owens, who got his start in L.A. but now lives and works in Paris. Designer Monse took home the award for emerging talent.

Legendary makeup artist Pat McGrath was awarded with the Founder’s Award. Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga was given the International Award.

The cfda fashion awards

The Fashion Icon Award was given posthumously to legendary Vogue Italia editor Franca Sozzani, who died in December.

In conclusion, the grand evening came to an end after a few hours and turned out to be a celebration of victory for many.

Previous articleCristiano Ronaldo Denims Are Now On Sale
Next articleBenarasi Ethnic Wear For Attending Summer Weddings