Gloria Steinem and Cecile Richards will be the honored recipients of a special tribute this year

Gloria Steinem has been an outspoken champion of women’s rights since the late 1960s. She became nationally recognized as a leader and a spokeswoman for the feminist movement in the late 1960s and early 1970s.


Gloria Steinem and Planned Parenthood President Cecile Richards from the fashion industry who was nominated as Time Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People in the World (2012 ), will be awarded at its annual awards ceremony. Both these women are activists in the social and political sphere.

gloria steinem

The two women will join actress-singer Janelle Monae in receiving a special tribute from the board of directors of the Council of Fashion Designers of America on June 5, organizers announced Monday. Each June, the international fashion community honors the best and brightest in American design, accessories and outstanding contributions made in journalism, creative vision, personal style, and lifetime achievement.

gloria steinem

Seth Myers will host the ceremony, which honors fashion’s top designers of the year, at Manhattan’s Hammerstein Ballroom. Presenters will include Nicole Kidman, Kerry Washington, Paris Jackson and Armie Hammer.

gloria steinem

Also being honored are designer Rick Owens, who will receive a lifetime achievement award, and Franca Sozzani, the former editor of Vogue Italia who died late last year. In 2017, the CFDA introduced a unified Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent, which honors an individual in the U.S. fashion industry who has made a difference for the welfare of others. The CFDA award is about integrity, innovation and inspiration who have made a positive impact on American communities.

Previous articleThese Romantic Fragrances Will Make You Fall In Love Again
Next articleBest Glimpse Of 70th Annual Cannes Film Festival